Spring Forward Craft

Daylight savings kicked in for most Australian states this past weekend. I grew up in Western Australia, a state that doesn’t have daylight savings. Since moving to Adelaide I would find myself confused every time it came around. Do I add or take away an hour?

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE it! It’s nice not to be woken up at 5am by the sun blazing through the windows.

Someone, very helpfully, told me the trick to remember which way the clocks go – “Spring forward, Fall back”. Since then I’ve managed not to get the clock change wrong. (Although it sometimes still takes a month or so until I change my car clock over!)

To help kids remember which way the clocks change, I came up with this super simple clock craft.

20131007-235151.jpg
Students draw a clock face on the inner part of a paper plate. I prefer students draw their own, rather than use a photocopied clock face, to see if they know the correct position of the numbers.

They can then make a spring by wrapping a pipe cleaner around their finger. This can be set aside, ready for the next step.

They will then cut out the clock hands from coloured card. Instead of attaching the hands with a brass fastener or brad, they can trim the fuzzy material from the bottom of the pipe cleaner and use that to pierce through the clock hands and the paper plate.

Around the rim of the plate, students can write the heading ‘Spring Forward’ & then decorate with flowers, butterflies or any other Spring related pictures.

Now time to go and enjoy this extra bit of sunshine in our evening!

Daylight savings explained:

One thought on “Spring Forward Craft

  1. Gail mac says:

    I have been doing a short literacy integrated unit. Just included Dali’s ‘Melting Clocks’ as an art appreciation and making sequence for my Yr4 class. Also looked at the history and jokes, myths etc. We have had a great time with the unit.

Leave a Reply

